TGIF! Says Kirk

18 Dec

TGIF

It’s no secret I love letterpressed items. The texture, the process, it all appeals to me. This husband-wife duo makes the most amazing letterpressed items. I especially like their cards. The colours and the illustrations and again, the texture, are crazy beautiful.

They use soy based inks onto 100% recycled, 30% PCW white cardstock & a 30% PCW recycled colour envelope (colours vary). These are cranked one at a time, one colour at a time, by hand, on a vintage Vandercook letterpress, which gives each card texture and impression that you can both see and feel.

I’ll do a short write-up on the process of letterpress soon. Till then…..

A short introduction…

I’m Kirk Jorgensen.  My wife Eva and I run a letterpress/design print shop in Heber City, Utah.  I’m a huge fan or riding bikes and playing/watching soccer.

One favourite item that you sell!

I really like our Holiday cards.

(ILI’s note: So do we!)

Tell us about your day! Generally…

When we get to the studio we usually grab some breakfast and read the news/blogs while we eat.  After that, I’ll print and pull the orders and get them ready to ship.  I’ll check the printing calendar and see what needs to be printed that day.  After printing, I’ll process all of the shipments and drop them off at the Post Office.  If there is any time left, I’ll work on one of the endless things on my “to do” list.

When & how did you first start?

Sycamore Street Press started while I was in graduate school in Columbus, Ohio.  Eva has an MFA in printmaking and we decided to invest in a letterpress as a practical application for her degree.

What keeps you going?

It’s really great working together with Eva. We both have our own strengths and weaknesses, but we are able to compliment each other.

What inspires you?

I’m inspired by simple drawings, Scandinavian design, and punk rock bands like the Ramones.

What’s the most exciting thing that has happened since you’ve started?

Hmm..We’ve been lucky enough to be featured on the TV show Good Morning America.

5 things you could never do without:

1. Eva
2. My bike.
3. Music
4. Family
5. Friends

What, in your opinion, sets you apart from the rest?

We’re a small operation and pay attention to quality.  We also stive to be as “green” as possible.

Picture 1

I love this ’cause it’s so simple with the beautiful colours and so appropriate for Christmas at the same time! This is one of my favourite Christmas cards that we carry in the store  🙂

Perfect for that special friend who’s always been there for you.

Picture 2

All items are available @ TheBlogshop, Haji Lane

These will also be made available online from next year

That’s it for this week and TGIF!

Countdown to Christmas: 7 days

If you haven’t gotten your Christmas shopping done, do it soon!

And remember to have fun in the process  🙂

Leave a Reply

