TGIF! Says Jeanette

13 Nov

TGIF

This week, we interview a pretty much do-it-all. When we saw her collection of cards, we were immediately sold. I think you’d feel the same way too  🙂

A short introduction…

1518595578_811e31dbf6

I’m Jeannette Ordas and I live in Vancouver, BC Canada. I run a web design company with my husband (http://matchboxcreative.com), I’m a food blogger (http://everybodylikessandwiches.blogspot.com) and of course, I illustrate and make sweet n’ sassy greeting cards.

2195581607_c967452b91

My workspace3967629738_02574be24e_o

(ILI’s note: My whole house looks exactly like this now. There’s stuff EVERYWHERE)

One favourite item that you sell!

il_430xN.99722371

My favorite item is the You Look Beautiful Today card because who doesn’t want to hear that every single day?? It’s perfect 🙂

What inspires you?

I get inspired from vintage kids books, cookbooks, old illustrations from the 1950s and ’60s. I love design and I try to take in all I can.

What’s the most exciting thing that has happened since you’ve started?

I think the most exciting thing is getting recognition for my cards and illustration.  I always get excited when stores from around the world are interested in carrying my cards or when customers tell me that finally they’ve found greeting cards that they truly love.

What keeps you going?

As long as I have ideas and illustrations that I love and that others love as well, then I’m going to keep going.

What, do you think, sets you apart from the rest?

I think that my cards are not just cute or sweet, but they also have a bit of an edge. They aren’t just the standard sweet birthday or hello card, there’s usually something else there to make someone laugh out loud. I’m proud of that.

Picture 1

While Jeannette has a ton of incredibly cute cards under her belt, this one was a sure win for us:

il_430xN.99618541

And, in light of Christmas,

il_430xN.39738710

Picture 2

Cloudy Collection

Picture 1

1. Hello     /     2. Happy Birthday     /     3. Congratulations     /     4. Love You     /     5. I’m Sorry     /     6. Thanks

The rest!

Picture 3Picture 4Picture 5Picture 6

That’s it for this week and TGIF!

One Response to “TGIF! Says Jeanette”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Incubator » TGI interview with Jeanette - November 17, 2009

    […] What’s the most exciting thing that has happened since you’ve started? I think the most exciting thing is getting recognition for my cards and illustration. I always get excited when stores from around the world are interested in carrying my cards or when customers tell me that finally they’ve found greeting cards that they truly love. Read the rest of the interview here. […]

Leave a Reply

